Tag: Rimi Sharma

Dr. Jose Palely along with Dr. Sheela Paul CSJB and Ms. Rimi Sharma attend the 2nd National Workshop on Documentation and Preparedness for Accreditation

22 feb 2020: A two day National Workshop was organized by Xavier Board of Hr. Education In India in collaboration with St. Anthony’s College, Shillong at Siloam, Umiam, Meghalaya from 21-22 Feb 2020.  The meeting was attended by the Principals and selected staff from various colleges from East & North Region of Xavier Board and from Goa.

Dr. Ordetta Mendoza  and  Dr. Joe Jesudurai were the main resource persons.  They took on the 7 criterias of NAAC with a special focus on Documentation and Preparedness for Accreditation. The two full day workshop gave clear insights and ideas on how to get the documentation ready and prepare themselves for accreditation.

The two staff, Dr. Sheela Paul CSJB, IQAC Coordinator, Dept of Education and Ms. Rimi Sharma, Dept of Political Science along with the Principal, Fr. Dr. Jose Palely attended the two day workshop. 

The workshop was very helpful for the college to get ready with proper documentation towards accreditation. We are grateful to the Xavier Board of Hr. Education in India, St. Anthony’s College, Shillong, the resource persons, Dr. Br. Albert Longley Dkhar, SBD, Principal, St. Anthony’s College, Dr Icydora Kharkongor, Dr. Herbert Lyngdoh and Dr. George Palamattam, Director, Siloam along with Fr. Dr. Sebastian Ousepparambil and DR. Sr. Jyoti Kispotta, of Xavier Board.

Fr. Bimal Lakra inaugurates “Excelsior” Wall magazine of Political Science Department

31 Aug: Political Science department inaugurated their wall magazine, bringing forth the theme: ‘Excelsior’ subtitled ‘India Today’. The wall magazine touched upon all the current and major issues that face India today.

Rebecca Surin highlighted the main theme and invited all to ‘grow higher and higher in learning’ and excel in life. Bikash Horo welcomed everyone present for the inaugural function of the Wall Magazine.

The wall magazine was inaugurated by Fr. Bimal Lakra, Vice Principal and a comment was given by Fr. Jose Palely, Principal.

The program came to an end with the vote of thanks by the department leader, Wanggo Lowang, followed by a photo session with the organizers and the staff of the department.

We appreciate the hard work of the staff and students of Political Science in bringing the wall magazine at the most appropriate time.

Political Science Department held a group discussion on Cabinet Ministers of India and their role

14 June 2019: As part of the departmental activity, the Political Science Department held a group discussion on the Cabinet Ministers of India and their role.

The students discussed with the help of a video, on each of the present cabinet ministers in the Hon’ble Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s Government.

The discussion was very lively and enlightening for the students.

Students of Political Science decide to create awareness on Environment and preservation of Medicinal Plants

7 June 2019: The department of Political Science came up with the project “Awareness on Environment with preservation of Medicinal Plants”, during the departmental activity hour.

through this project, the department will make a medicinal plant garden in the college campus this academic year and promote herbal medicines.

Reported by: Sinchuilung Gangmei

Political Science Department opt for syllabus based group discussion during departmental activity

5 April 2019: The department of Political Science dedicated today’s departmental activity hours to group discussion base on the syllabus with the help of the staff.

Second Semester students were divided into three groups and took up three themes for discussion: Amendment procedure of Indian Constitution, Powers and position of the Indian President and Relation between the Centre and State.

The Fourth Semester students were divided into two groups. One group focused on North East Politics while the other looked at the UK and USA Constitutions – a comparative study.

The Sixth Semester students took up Panchayati Raj as the topic for in depth understanding. The Asst. Professors of the department, Mrigakhi Goswami, Rimi sharma, Bijit Saikia and Suchitra Bhuyan.

Reported by : Asst. Prof. Mrigakhi Goswami

Fr. Bimal Lakra Inaugurates the Political Science Departmental Wall Magazine Titled “Analysis on the Present NDA led Government

22 March 2019: The department of Political science prepared the college magazine on the theme ‘Analysis on the present NDA led Government’ which included initiatives on various developmental measures and the drawbacks of the government. Aboy Panmei Compered the Inaugural Program.

The wall magazine was inaugurated by Fr. Bimal Lakra, vice principal and the PRO of the college in the presence of Fr. Dr. Jose Palely, Principal and Fr. Dr. Policarp Xalxo, Administrator and IQAC coordinator of the college. All the college students along with the staff were present for the inaugural ceremony. Fr. Bimal Lakra spoke about the importance of mastering the skill of analysis and appreciated the effort made by the students of the political Science department in analyzing and bringing about the effectiveness of the present NDA Government.

Wanggo Lowang gave a brief description about the departmental wall magazine highlighting the various features. ‘We wanted to light a fire of desire in everyone and create a thirst for knowledge’, he said. After the words of appreciation from Fr. Principal and Fr. Administrator, Sinchuilung Gangmei delivered vote of thanks.

Department of Political Science organises group activity during departmental activity hours

8 Feb 2019 : Department of Political Science organised today group activity for the students of Political Science. The entire department was divided into 8 groups. Each group was given an assignment to present a profile of each North Eastern State in order to create a greater level of knowledge about North East India. Today three groups presented the profile of their respective assigned states of Manipur, Assam and Mizoram.

Classes resume after the summer vacation 2018

1 Aug: The principal welcomed all the staff and students and exhorted them to a life of study and pursuit of academic excellence. He welcomed the new staff – Ms. Banya Kasturi Dutta, Dept of Education, Ms. Steffy Joy, Jesus Youth Full timer, and Ms. Rimi Sharma, Dept of  Political Science.

On this day, the students who secured 100% attendance in the previous academic year 2017-18 were given certificates and cash awards.

Staff Selection Interview held for the department of Political Science at Don Bosco Dibrugarh


18 June : The staff selection interview was held at Don Bosco Hr. Sec School, Dibrugarh, for the department of Political Science from 1.30 – 3.30 pm. The venue was chosen for the convenience of the subject experts. Dr. Titus Bhengra, Head, Deptt of Politcal Science, DHSK College was the chair person and Dr. L. Doungel, Department of Political Science, DHSK College, Dibrugarh was the subject expert. Along with Dr. Jose Palely, Principal of Don Bosco College and Fr. Mathew C Paul M.Arch, Governing Body Member, they formed the staff selection Panel. Of the four candidates appeared, two were ranked in order of merit.  1. Ms. Rimi Sharma, 2. Ms. Momi Sangma.